Home > Uncategorized > Leahblerie, or How I Learned To Stop Worrying And Love The Clicking

Leahblerie, or How I Learned To Stop Worrying And Love The Clicking

May 21, 2012

Diablo III, which, I must admit, has been keeping me from my Guardian duties for a few days now, is a good game, on the whole.  The difficulty of Normal mode is quite trivial – storymode, mostly – but Nightmare was a bit of a rude awakening. The awful habits of Normal (forgo vitality, stack offensive stats exclusively, rush in and spam damage without much regard to monster special moves) got my monk killed on the early boss-fights, leaving me free to tuck into some humble pie left over from SW:TOR patch 1.2, while watching my nimble-footed witch dottoressa friend finish the job. The game got better at that point, though I fully foresee some kind of wrist explosion long before Inferno rolls around. Those hours do add up.

Of course, one does not need to reach nightmare and beyond to make the game more difficult for oneself. My second run through, this time solo with a magic/gold-find-stacking wizard, was rather harrowing, with a particularly tough gear-check on Rakanoth in Act IV at 1.3k hp. His charge move is difficult to counter without a certain health pool, unless one gets lucky with mirror images, prescient with diamond skin, or particularly good with line-of-sight baiting using narrow columns in the room. I am none of the above, but RNG came through eventually. Blizzard caters to the self-flagellating playstyle: there is even an achievement for killing Hell-mode bosses while stark naked, but I think I’ll leave this one to actual real-life Jedi.

For the Epicureans out there, there is, of course, the easy way. As everyone knows, the game labours under the long shadow of its auction house. I expect that it will become more significant and interesting beyond its current role of content-trivialiser as more people hit the highest difficulty levels and actually need to optimise their gear to succeed. The auction house metagame will, for most people, become wholly integrated in absolute terms into their Hell and Inferno progress. If the game holds my interest that long, I look forward to that aspect.

Since gold-making tips are in vogue lately: I was able to make a decent bit of early money on shimmering essence flipping, even with the steep auction house cut. Alarmingly, a surprising number of people threw the stuff on the market below its vendor price. Perhaps they amassed a glut and failed to foresee the limiting factor presented by artisan crafting pages? In any case, gold is king, and it’s completely useless to salvage. I vendor all but the most appetising yellows (+experience/primary stat/sockets/gold find). Auctioning for very low prices and keeping the ten slots churning is preferable to fishing for larger sales. There is a small vitality price bubble for high-20s and early-30s items, predictably enough, as people buffer health to contend with the higher difficulty.

As a final note, and also keeping with fashion, it is tempting to carp harshly about the D3 story and the abdication of true Diablo spirit. Since the subject is a well-tenderised dead horse, however, I will try and practice some of that ascetic self-restraint here. Suffice it to say that it is vastly improved if viewed as a commedia dell’arte rather than a drama. Now, at last, all shall see the true meaning of final judgement, for all eternity…

Categories: Uncategorized